Hawkes Bay Rugby Referees Association

Sunday 26th March 2023, 10.00am.

(Date change due to Cyclone Gabrielle)

Referees & Players’ Lounge HBRU CTC Napier


Life Members.  Bruce Dockary, Boof Madden and Thomas Makea

HBRRA Members (15); Keith Groube, Brent Malone, Warren Willacy, Jordan Cameron, David Clarkson, Stephen Dine, Sheldon Eden-Whaitiri, Scott Klem, Danny Gough, Barry van Heerden,  Nick Wakefield, Matt Astle, Brad Hyde, Andy Clark, Philip Jensen.

By Zoom. John Harland, Renier van Dyk.

Visitors; Bec’s Warren HBRU, Chris Kitto HBRU, Sean Davies HBRU.


Alan Mettrick, Graeme Fisher, Moana Davis, Nick Hogan, Bruce Hutchins, Tipene Cottrell, Mark Johnson, Jono Bredin, Dean Chamberlain, Richard Baines, Willie Dustin, Ian Cadwallader, Jim Yeoman, Dan Waenga, George Konia HBRU, Josh Symes HBRU, Adam Blake HBRU, Jay Campbell HBRU, Gary Macdonald.

Moved to be accepted by Warren Willacy / Barry van Heerden


Keith Groube did an evacuation procedure and reminder for all to register.

Opening and welcomes

In lieu of the passing of Philip Irwin, President, Brent Malone opened the HBRRA AGM and chaired the meeting.

Life members


Minutes from the 2022 AGM held on Monday 28th February 2022.

These were tabled and presented as a true and accurate record.

No matters arising.

Moved to accept. Brent Malone / Barry van Heerden


Philip Irwin, Past President, Life Member.

Lynne Mockford, Les Mockford’s (Life member / Patron) wife passed away 4 days prior.

1 minute’s silence was held.

Presidents Report

Nil report.

Chairman’s report

This was read out to the meeting by Brent Malone

Record on file

Moved to accept. Nick Wakefield / Thomas Makes

Presentation of Annual Accounts

Financial report table and spoken to by Stephen Dine.

Brief report by SD

Page 1 – Income.

Best Travel now back as a full financial sponsor and Meeanee Hotel a new shorts sponsor. Sponsorship income $24k per year. Grant $20k for gear. Silver lakes deal (NZR payment) $14k.

Page 6 – Expenditure.

Social $9k. 2 x prize giving’s in this financial period. Gear $35k

Overall, a $14k surplus. Balance sheet Page 3, approx - $120k cash funds. Investments are in Term Deposits as these are giving better returns.

Question from SEW, what is the Silver lake money used for.

This is earmarked for referee promotion and retention. Club referee jerseys, secondary school road shows. This money does not have to be spent urgently and can be invested and used as required over the seasons.

Moved to accept the annual accounts. Stephen Dine / Boof Madden. Carried.




Sean Davis spoke on behalf of HBRU.

The relationship between HBRU / HBRRA is good - It is important that we both keep an open and supportive relationship. Sean, along with RDO’s and KG, is trying to work with clubs to promote referees and AR’s. General feedback from clubs / players is the confidence in refereeing.

Election of officers

Patron (current Les Mockford)

Les Mockford was nominated by Keith Groube and seconded by Boof Madden.

Les was not available for the meeting but has accepted his nomination prior to the AGM.

No further nominations were received. LM patron for 2023.

President (Vacant by the passing of Philip Irwin)

Bruce Dockary was nominated by Brent Malone and seconded by Danny Gough.

No further nominations were received. Bruce Dockary President for 2023.

Chairman (current Brent Malone – available for re-election)

Brent Malone was nominated by Keith Groube and seconded by Bruce Dockary.

No further nominations received. BM Chairman for 2023.

Executive board members (4) (current Mark Johnson, Danny Gough, Jim Yeoman and Tipene Cottrell)

Mark Johnson and Danny Gough are due to stand down after a 2-year rotation. Danny Gough has made himself available for re—election. 2 further nominations were received, Sheldon Eden-Whaitiri and Nick Hogan. (All nominations received prior to closing date)

DG and SEW spoke to the AGM regarding what they have to offer the HBRRA. KG read out a short email from Nick Hogan to the AGM.

A secret ballot was taken with Bec’s Warren and Chris Kitto from the HBRU approved as scrutineers.

Danny Gough and Sheldon Eden-Whaitiri were the successful candidates. Agreement by those present that the ballot papers be destroyed.

Treasurer (current Stephen Dine)

Stephen Dine had made himself available for this position. No further nominations received. Stephen Dine treasurer for 2023.

Secretary (current Keith Groube)

Keith Groube had made himself available for this position. No further nominations received.

No further nominations were received. KG secretary for 2023.

Appointment of Financial reviewer

Stephen Dine tabled that we accept Baker Tilly Staples Rodway Audit Limited as the HBRRA financial reviewer for 2023.  Moved at accept BTSR as financial reviewer Stephen Dine / Boof Madden.         Carried

Subscriptions for 2023

The executive recommended that the subscriptions for 2023 be reduced from the previous year to $50 and increases to $60 if paid after 1st May 2023.  Only financial members are entitled to apply for interchange and any end of year travel reimbursements.

Moved to accept, Brent Malone / Nick Wakefield             Carried

Out of pocket expenses

Brent Malone moved that the out-of-pocket expenses for 2023 remain the same as 2022 at $3400.

Brent Malone / Bruce Dockary   Carried

General Business

Scott Klem asked, in general, what is the role of the executive board.

BM and KG spoke to this.

Governance of the association.

Financial decisions – investments. Agreed expenditure benefiting the HBRRA and members.

Referee retention and recruitment. Referee interchanges, social events. Judicial support, HBRU representation. Coaching support. Funding applications. Sponsorship.

Some of these roles are carried out by select members of the Executive group.

Thomas Makea thanked KG for his continued work and keeping all members up to date with what is happening. Thomas also thanked the Executive board for their work.

With no further business Brent Malone closed the meeting at 10.50am

People were invited to share morning tea.

Signed by Chairman

Brent Malone _____________________________

Keith Groube